August Books of the Month

Don Sakers

​Author: Gay, Autistic, Atheist • follow @meerkatdon on Twitter

 



The Eighth Succession

Galactic intrigue and adventure, in the tradition of Theodore Sturgeon & James H. Schmitz (LGBTQ interest)
________________________________________
________________________________________
________________________________________

In the tradition of Theodore Sturgeon and James H. Schmitz, a new tale of galactic intrigue and adventure.

Rikk Hoister is the first of new breed of cloned, paranormal geniuses, able to defeat the Imperial Navy with his mind alone, bound only by a rigid sense of ethics...

His cousin Yewanda is equally powerful, and also able to teleport herself anywhere. She's innocent, inexperienced...and just five years old.

When Yewanda sets out on her own to visit Rikk, the galaxy better watch out!

________________________________________
Protagonist(s)
Bi
Black
Woman
________________________________________
Character(s)
Bi
Biracial
Black
Queer
Woman
________________________________________
Interests
Adulthood
Black
Polyamory
Queer
________________________________________
Setting(s)
East Asia
Exoplanet(s)
Our Galaxy
________________________________________
Genre(s)
Adventure SF
ESP/Psionics
Galactic Empires
Gender Roles
Psychological/Sociological SF
Robots/Artifical Intelligence
Space Opera
Teleportation
Transhuman

Remember when science fiction used to be filled with galactic intrigue and bigger-than-life heroes? The wonderful Don Sakers certainly does! The Eighth Succession is a rip-roaring yarn, impossible to put down. If John W. Campbell's Astounding Stories had been published in an LGBT-friendly era, this is the cover-story serial you'd have been waiting anxiously for each month. What a ride! 

--Robert J. Sawyer, Hugo Award-winning author of Red Planet Blues

The Eighth Succession is an exuberant novel, rich with intrigue, superheroes, super tech, and a galactic empire -- with something, in short, for every SF taste. Enjoy the ride.

-- Edward M. Lerner
   co-author of the Fleet of Worlds series

Don Sakers has written a fast-moving story that has almost everything you might want: galactic empires, political intrigue, comic relief, surprising plot twists, and -- most important -- a cast of characters who make us want to turn the page to learn more about them.  This is that rare story which doesn't overstay its welcome.  It leaves you hungry for more.

--- Daniel M. Kimmel, author of the Hugo-nominated Jar Jar Binks Must Die and Shh! It's a Secret

 

Children of the Eighth Day

Paranormal clone geniuses vs the Galactic Empire (LGBTQ interest)
________________________________________
________________________________________
________________________________________

Rikk Hoister and his cousins are the pinnacle of human evolution, cloned geniuses with powerful paranormal abilities. Life is good- until ships and soldiers of the Terran Empire invade their homeworld and take most of the Hoister Family captive. Now it's a race across the Galaxy as Rikk and five other Hoister survivors unite in a desperate search for allies. At stake is not only the fate of the Hoisters...but the destiny of the Galaxy.

The Eighth Succession introduced readers to the Hoister Family...Children of the Eighth Day takes the story of this remarkable family to the next level.

________________________________________
Protagonist(s)
Bi
Biracial
Black
POC
Queer
Woman
________________________________________
Character(s)
Bi
Biracial
Black
Gay
POC
Queer
Woman
________________________________________
Interests
Adulthood
Black
Jewish
Polyamory
Queer
________________________________________
Setting(s)
East Africa
Earth orbit
Exoplanet(s)
Our Galaxy
________________________________________
Genre(s)
Adventure SF
ESP/Psionics
Galactic Empires
Gender Roles
Psychological/Sociological SF
Religious/Philosophical SF
Robots/Artifical Intelligence
Space Opera
Teleportation
Transhuman